Alvan Ikoku Federal College of Education Owerri

Home » 2014 » May

Monthly Archives: May 2014

Alvan is 2013 Federal College of Education of the Year.



The College on Wednesday, 7th May, 2014 paid host to a crop of international student leaders under the aegis of the All-Africa Students Union, AASU when they came from all over Africa to bestow on the Provost, Dr. (Mrs.) Blessing Ijioma the Kwame Nkrumah Leadership Award as the “2013 Provost of the Year” and the College “2013 Federal College of Education of the Year.” The twin awards were presented in the presence of the College Management, a representative of the President of the National Association of Nigerian Students (NANS), Mr. Solomon Adodo (ABU, Zaria) and a delegation of the College Student Union Government led by the President, Comrade Orient Nwadike.

The AASU, Union Pan-Africaine des Etudiants in French were led by Alao Assoua Chance Walakaye Elias, Speaker AASU Parliament (University of Sheik Antar Diop) from Senegal who confessed that he was skeptical of visiting Nigeria due to various reports of insecurity from the international media. However he was highly delighted that most parts of Nigeria were peaceful. Speaking in French ( Kobehi Kossa Thierry Sylvaive from Cote D’Ivoire was interpreting for the English speaking audience) Kounedji revealed that the AASU were in the business of awarding eminent leaders in society and encouraging them to do more. The AASU uniquely monitored leaders in various sectors before awarding them with the prestigious Kwame Nkrumah Leadership plaque.



Dr. (Mrs.) Blessing Ijioma, the Provost, thanked the student body for the award presented to her and the College. She marveled that students were able to organise themselves across national borders and praised the quality of the persons in the group. She eulogized that with such crop of young men Africa had hope. She encouraged them to be disciplined, focused, responsible and to trust in God.

The high point of the event was the reading of the citation of the Provost and presentation of the award plaque and certificates. Other eminent African awardees of the Kwame Nkrumah Leadership Award include President Goodluck Jonathan, 2006; Mr. Kofi Annan, 1997, Madiba Nelson Mandela, 1999; Prof. E.A.C Nwanze, 2007; Abedi “Ayew” Pele, 2010 to name a few. MTN South Africa in 2006 received in the organisation category just like the College.

AASU was formed in 1972 after a group of students met at the University of Science and Technology, Kumasi, Ghana to unify all African students towards the socio-economic and political advancement of Africa. The student leaders came from Ghana, Cameroon, Sierre-Leone and Cote D’Ivoire and represented famous institutions like the Fourah Bay College, Sierra Leone, University of Sheik Antar Diop, Senegal, Univeristy of Yaounde and of course Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Ghana among others.